Plato’s Atlantis

Image courtesy of style.com

Alexander McQueen’s Spring-Summer 2010 collection is inspired by an apocalyptic vision of the world where humans have to adopt animal characteristics in order to survive, especially underwater. This collection is the last one that has been fully designed by McQueen himself before his death in February 2010. Dresses from this collection are now extremely valuable and hard to find, due to their popular success as much as to their historic value.

The patterns on the fabrics are digitally printed, all inspired by nature. Some of the collection features reptile prints and the rest of it looks into the aquatic world. I think it totally redefined animal prints and how they are perceived. You can look at all of the collection and learn more about it here. I chose this dress because it’s my personal favorite. I love the kaleidoscopic symmetry in both the print and the cut (and I actually think it would look good on me, I would buy it if I were super rich).

This collection is also featured in the exhibition Savage Beauty, on view at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London until August 2. Unfortunately, I will not be in London until late August so I will not have time to see it and review it but it looks worth it. More info about it here. Fun fact, this exhibition actually originated at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York but it was so successful that people started asking for it to become a travelling exhibition. Let’s hope it will be coming to a museum near you (and me) soon.

Image courtesy of style.com

Leave a Reply

